Big Dreams

I spend the majority of every work day talking to students about their future plans. Only in jest do I ever ask, “What do you want to be when you grow up?” I’m a smart cookie with a love for rhetoric…I can phrase it better than that. “Tell me about your dream job.” “What do you see as your future career?” “What’s the career goal?” It dawned on me tonight, however, that I haven’t asked Jeremy and Jace that question. Here are the answers I got.

Jace: “I’m going to be a police man on a motorcycle with tattoos.” (Said in a gruff voice showing off his guns.)

IMG_0268

 

Jeremy: “I’m going to be on TV. I’m going to report the news. But no one will know who I am because I will have contacts.” (He says as he pokes himself straight in the eye to demonstrate.)

IMG_0725

Jace: “Oh yeah…I’m going to report the news like Jeremy. Oh wait…I’m going to be a guy on TV like Shark Week. I’m going to report about sharks.”

IMG_0788

Jeremy: “Maybe one will bite you. I’m going to report the news in New York City.”

IMG_0465

Jace: “Oh wait…I’m going to be a cowboy like Papa. And I’m going to buy horses. And I’m going to have a big hat. And I’m going to buy a real gun. And I’m going to have hay.”

IMG_0897

[Silence…]

Jace: “Mom…I know what Jeremy is going to be. He is going to be Squints. And he’s going to marry Wendy Peffercorn and have nine kids.”

squints-wendy-peppercorn

[Insert tackling match here.]

Dear Lord, 

Please help my boys to be all that they want to be. Give them opportunities to reach their big dreams. Help them to be Godly men who direct their hearts toward you. Help me to love and nurture them as You would have me to. Help me to let them be little and dream big dreams. 

Amen. 

One thought on “Big Dreams

Leave a Reply

