An Unexpected Compliment

Today I went to lunch with my coworkers. It was really a pretty normal day…nothing spectacular. We were celebrating the two new members of our team, but in general it was just an ordinary Tuesday. We ordered our food and walked to our table. I noticed an elderly couple sitting on the other side of the restaurant, but I didn’t think anything of it. I walked to the bar in the middle of the room to get salsa and a straw. Suddenly I notice the little old woman standing next to me. With an enormous grin she put her hand on my shoulder and said, “Honey, you just look gorgeous today from head to toe. It is sure refreshing to see such a lovely young woman.” And I smiled and thanked her…and we talked for just a moment. She started to walk away, and then she turned around and said something that I want to log in my memory bank – I don’t ever want to forget it…

“You know sweetie, you may think that was just for you, but I am selfish. And giving an unexpected compliment is even nicer for me than it is for you.” 

I think those are true words of wisdom. Like I said – it wasn’t a spectacular day. There was nothing special about me this Tuesday morning. But there was definitely something wonderful about that woman. So my goal for tomorrow is to give someone an unexpected compliment – because it is as good for me as it is for someone else.

Leave a Reply

