25 Days of Christmas – Day 2 – Our Family Count Down

I have been very inspired by posts I have found on Pinterest to count down to Christmas in a more special way this year. We have an awesome Advent Calendar that my aunt made for the boys. They love pulling out each little felt ornament and telling me how many days until Santa comes.
image

I am notorious for my calendar of free or cheap events in the surrounding area. I create it monthly, listing every possible thing our family might be interested in doing. Sometimes we do them…sometimes we admire them on the calendar and wish we had more time! The day after Thanksgiving, my calendar took on new meaning. Twenty-five days of Christmas activities – some big, some small – that we could do as a family.
image

Today was Day 2, and so far things have gone well. We got to start our count down with one of my favorite Texas Tech activities – The Carol of Lights. It is this amazing moment where the choir sings Christmas carols, Raider Red dresses like Santa, and in one crescendo all of the Christmas lights around Memorial Circle come on all at once. In honor of that, the boys and I talked about how Jesus is the light of our world and that Christmas lights should remind us of how He shines his light on us, asking us to shine our light on others. We made Christmas light crafts this morning to mark that occasion.
image

image
image
image

Tonight Jerm, Jace, and I read the Grinch together and talked about what Christmas is really about.

The Grinch though of something he hadn’t before. Maybe Christmas doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas, he thought, means a little bit more!”

We watched How the Grinch Stole Christmas (the Jim Carey version) – at least Jerm and I did. Baby brother didn’t quite make it. Jeremy also made a pretty fab Grinch!
image

image
image

So…days 1 & 2 are complete. Now I am looking forward to 23 more!

Leave a Reply

