Paying Homage to the First Six Weeks of School

Hush little baby, 

Don’t say a word. 

Momma’s gonna buy you a mocking bird. 

But if that mocking bird don’t sing, 

Momma’s gonna buy you a diamond ring. 

And if that diamond ring don’t shine,

Momma’s gonna buy you a fishing line. 

‘Cuz they say if you

Give a man a fish, 

He’ll eat for a day. 

Teach a man to fish, 

He’ll eat for a lifetime. 

My goal for you is not to give you everything, 

But to teach you each day

So your heart will sing. 

* A big thank you to my sons’ teachers–Ms. Ashburn, Mrs. Michelle, and Mrs. Jovanna–plus all the others I don’t know–librarians, computer teachers, PE teachers, counselors, lab students, principals, and anyone else I missed. I am excited for all that the year has in store, and I pray that God helps you to make this year a success as you continue to bless the lives of my children. 
One thought on “Paying Homage to the First Six Weeks of School

Leave a Reply

