Feeling Like Suzy Homemaker

Since I finished my MA I have been really trying to be the kind of housewife my Granny would want me to be. I really have been trying hard, but I keep finding things to distract me…like playing with the boys, reading things I WANT to be reading, POSTING MY BLOG (oops!). Regardless, nature seems to have found a way to motivate me to be Suzy Homemaker. The apple tree in our back yard produced like crazy. There were so many apples that the limbs were bending and even breaking under the weight. Of course I had no idea if they were ripe or not, but once a storm knocked some down and I tasted a few, I decided they could be picked. They were small, green, and sour…but oh so perfect for baking! I picked over 5 gallons…and then I started wondering what the heck I was going to do with them all. I gave some away, but then I got brave. I decided I could put them away in the freezer. At first I thought I would just wing it. Then I decided to be smart and Google. I found this amazing blog that gives great cooking info AND amazing life info. 

http://www.southernplate.com/2009/09/freezing-apples-and-what-the-old-folks-taught-me.html

As usual, I was out of needed ingredients. So I ended up flying by the seat of my pants anyway!

Step 1

Peel the apples.

Step 2

Chop the apples. I chose to chop them up into large chunks…bite-sized for pies.

Step 3 

Add sugar, cinnamon, and lemon juice. I used 1/4 cup sugar per gallon, cinnamon and lemon juice were eye-balled. Mix until the apples are well-covered.

Step 4 

Plays apples in gallon bags. I put 2 quarts into each gallon bag. I made sure that they were in a single flat layer.

This way they will thaw quicker when I am ready to use them.

I put away several gallons this way, but I STILL had apples. So I made: 

Praline Apple Bread

 http://www.southernliving.com/food/holidays-occasions/apple-recipes-00400000053069/page2.html 

Mom’s Apple Crisp

This was one of Mom’s favorite recipes. She used apples, pears, apricots, peaches. She made it and put it in the freezer. And we devoured it! It’s too good and too easy not to share her recipe. And it make me happy to feel like she is still with us when I make her recipes. 

3 medium apples – sliced thin

3/4 cup quick cooking oats
3/4  cup brown sugar
1/2 cup flour
1/2 cup (one stick margarine) melted
Cinnamon
Lemon juice
 
Arrange apples in greased pan.
Combine oats, brown sugar, and flour.
Add melted margarine to mixture.
Sprinkle cinnamon, sugar, and lemon juice on apples.
Top with oat mixture.
 
Bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes. 
Listen to the bubbling. Savor the smell. Pig out…preferably with vanilla ice cream!
Leave a Reply

